Thursday, September 17, 2009

Margaret Peterson Haddix's new series

The Missing: Book 1

Found (2008)

I remember reading The Hidden by MPH, the first in her Shadow Children series years ago with my children-the ones that are now teenagers. I don't think we read the whole series(there are 7 total) but we read a lot of them and we were fascinated by the idea. This new series is just as amazingly unique. She takes a whole plane load of babies and drops them at an airport, no pilot, no friendly attendants. Fast forward 13 years and that crew of babies, adopted into families are now teenagers and are leading regular lives. Two of them, Jonah and Chip, begin to get odd letters in the mail.
Their investigation takes them to the FBI, where they find disappearing janitors as well as a list of survivors and witnesses. Are they survivors or witnesses? From this list, Chip and Katherine, Jonah's sister make phone calls trying to put any pieces together. Jonah just wants to go back to his regular life before the crazy letters began. Eventually a secret meeting at the local library (nice touch; it is a great place for information) takes place with one of the witnesses and she reveals a few more odd clues. Ahhh, such a mystery!
This book is a great mix of science fiction and I'm not a huge fan of sci-fi but time travel is pretty fascinating. I'm ready to read Sent, the second in the series, which will include a little history according to the synopsis on the back of the book.
I highly recommend everything by this author!


Melissa O. said...

This sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for bringing it to my attention!! :-)

And thanks for stopping by my blog--good luck in the poster contest!

Peaceful Reader said...

Thanks for coming over and visiting!! You have a beautiful blog.